Three Kings Chapel Platenga, Obersaxen
Description
The first chapel stood to the west of the hamlet and was built in 1593. In 1695, the chapel was moved to its current location and straightened. An open ridge turret with a curved helmet sits on the gabled roof and two bells, whose year of manufacture and location are unknown, ring out their song to the heavens. The chapel was renovated in 1967 and is dedicated to St. Epiphany. The feast is on January 6th. St. Epiphany is the patron saint of pilgrims and travelers; of furriers; against sorcery, epilepsy, thunderstorms and hail. Their intercession is also invoked against sudden death.
Location